fbpx

Photos of Elisa

Elisa Downing Square Press Kit Photo

Square Door Photo

2560 x 2560 pixels

Elisa Downing Young Adult Author Door and Umbrella

Landscape Door Photo

1200 x 800 pixels

Landscape Door Photo

1200 x 800 pixels

Elisa Downing Young Adult Author Door and Umbrella
Elisa Downing Umbrella

Umbrella Photo

1700 x 2560 pixels

Elisa's Bio

Long Bio

Elisa Downing is an author of fantasy books about brave kids, teens, and young adults. An MA Children’s Literature graduate, she’s spent years climbing through the windows of books to better see the world beyond. She enjoys writing thrilling adventures full of ancient mysteries, slow-burn romance, and lots of monsters. When she’s not writing, you can find Elisa reading under a tree somewhere, playing video games on easy mode, waxing poetic over cult cinema, or watching horror movies.

Short Bio

Elisa Downing is an author of fantasy books about brave kids, teens, and young adults. She loves working with words, whether it be in her day job as a freelance editor, her spare time as an avid reader, or her dreams as a full-time writer. She resides in Canada.

House of Matchsticks Series

House of Matchsticks (Part 1)

HoM ebook

Cover

1600 x 2560 pixels

Blurb:

Disney’s Atlantis meets Indiana Jones in this captivating fantasy series about a world powered by arcane ore … and the crew of treasure hunters destined to save it.

A girl abandoned in a rowboat. A man broken by a failed expedition. And Death himself, desperate not to get involved.

The House of Matchsticks is calling …

On the eve of her final exam, all Isaline wants to do is graduate. Rescued from an abandoned rowboat when she was a baby, Isaline has trained for years to become a City Watchman in her kingdom’s capital city. Now she’s only a test away from that dream coming true.

But something isn’t right at Casret Watch Academy. Isaline is shaken when there’s an attempt to steal her mysterious red pendant at school. Even worse, she fails her crucial weapons review … and runs into a staggeringly handsome thief.

As a brave crew comes together from across the kingdom, their deadly adventure threatens to destroy everything Isaline has worked for. Yet bold treasure hunters, two-faced spies, and ferocious beasts are hard to ignore. Especially when they want the same thing: the key to finding the fabled House of Matchsticks.

And she has it.

House of Matchsticks is a third person, multi-POV series with found family, enemies to lovers slow-burn romance (straight and LGBTQ+), and a healthy dose of action/adventure. This is Part 1 in the series. Expect a cliffhanger.

Info:

Title: House of Matchsticks

Series and Number: House of Matchsticks, Part 1

Age Range: 14+

Publication Date: September 30th, 2021 (ebook, paperback, and hardcover); July 22nd, 2022 (audiobook)

Publisher: Dark Window Books

Comp Titles: Disney’s Atlantis: The Lost Empire; Indiana Jones; Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo; Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld; Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne

Formats Available: paperback, ebook, hardcover, and audiobook

ISBN: 978-1-7773305-2-1 (paperback); 978-1-7773305-3-8 (ebook); 978-1-7773305-4-5 (hardcover); 978-1-7781835-5-3 (audiobook)

Night of Matchsticks (Part 2)

NoM ebook <1MB

Cover

1350 by 2160 pixels

Blurb:

Six of Crows meets Disney’s Atlantis and Indiana Jones in this captivating YA Fantasy series about a world powered by arcane ore … and the crew of treasure hunters destined to save it.

He was supposed to collect the dead. Instead, he rescued a single soul. Now watching her adventure, he’s faced with making the ultimate sacrifice.

The House of Matchsticks is calling …

The Collector doesn’t know how to fix what he’s undone. Ever since impulsively saving the baby in the rowboat, the Collector has spent his days trying to keep everything he’s known from unravelling. But the greater his fascination with human mortality grows—along with the sudden, shocking urge to take just one life-giving breath—the more he fears intervening would cost him eternity.

With the girl he saved long ago and her party of treasure hunters prepping for a dive into the mines in search of lost history, tensions run high as the Collector confronts the collision of past and present. And terrified of his own confused longings, Death must make a choice between normality… and sacrificing his status to set things right.

House of Matchsticks is a third person, multi-POV series with found family, enemies to lovers slow-burn romance (straight and LGBTQ+), and a healthy dose of action/adventure. This is Part 2 in the series. Expect a cliffhanger.

Info:

Title: Night of Matchsticks

Series and Number: House of Matchsticks, Part 2

Age Range: 14+

Publication Date: October 30th, 2021

Publisher: Dark Window Books

Comp Titles: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo; Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld; Disney’s Atlantis: The Lost Empire; Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne

Formats Available: paperback, ebook, and hardcover

ISBN: 978-1-7773305-5-2 (paperback); 978-1-7773305-6-9 (ebook); 978-1-7773305-7-6 (hardcover)

Tree of Matchsticks (Part 3)

ToM ebook

Cover

1500 by 2400 pixels

Blurb:

Six of Crows meets Disney’s Atlantis and Indiana Jones in this captivating YA Fantasy series about a world powered by arcane ore … and the crew of treasure hunters destined to save it.

Memories of his last expedition were stolen and erased from his mind. He’ll never be the same if he gets them back…

The House of Matchsticks is calling …

Jack Fael can’t shake an uneasy feeling something’s off. Already riddled with doubt over coming out of retirement just to work with his rival, the treasure hunter feels no closer to uncovering what happened the night his career ended. So he’s thrilled when he begins to have the visions he’s been hoping for deep in the mines, offering a crucial shot at untangling his muddled memories.

Impatient for answers, Jack is forced to grit his teeth and play nice while an unfamiliar crew embarks on his quest. But between the shaky identity of one of his team, battling confused feelings regarding his rival, and deadly terrain inside the mines, it’ll be hard enough surviving their treacherous underground expedition.

House of Matchsticks is a third person, multi-POV series with found family, enemies to lovers slow-burn romance (straight and LGBTQ+), and a healthy dose of action/adventure. This is Part 3 in the series. Expect unanswered questions.

Info:

Title: Tree of Matchsticks

Series and Number: House of Matchsticks, Part 3

Age Range: 14+

Publication Date: November 30th, 2021

Publisher: Dark Window Books

Comp Titles: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo; Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld; Disney’s Atlantis: The Lost Empire; Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne

Formats Available: paperback, ebook, and hardcover

ISBN: 978-1-7773305-8-3 (paperback); 978-1-7773305-9-0 (ebook); 978-1-7778857-0-0 (hardcover)

House of Matchsticks Collections

Parts 1-3 Collection

Parts 1-3 Box Set ebook

Ebook Cover

1600 x 2560 pixels

Paperback/Hardcover Cover

1600 x 2475 pixels

ebook cover for mockups

Paperback/Hardcover Cover

1600 x 2475 pixels

Blurb:

A girl abandoned in a rowboat. A man broken by a failed expedition. And Death himself, desperate not to get involved.

This set contains the first three parts of the House of Matchsticks YA Fantasy series, a new saga for fans of Six of Crows, Disney’s Atlantis, and Indiana Jones. Fall into a world powered by arcane ore … and meet the crew of treasure hunters destined to save it.

From the description for House of Matchsticks:

On the eve of her final exam, all Isaline wants to do is graduate. Rescued from an abandoned rowboat when she was a baby, Isaline has trained for years to become a City Watchman in her kingdom’s capital city. Now she’s only a test away from that dream coming true.

But something isn’t right at Casret Watch Academy. Isaline is shaken when there’s an attempt to steal her mysterious red pendant at school. Even worse, she fails her crucial weapons review … and runs into a staggeringly handsome thief.

As a brave crew comes together from across the kingdom, their deadly adventure threatens to destroy everything Isaline has worked for. Yet bold treasure hunters, two-faced spies, and ferocious beasts are hard to ignore. Especially when they want the same thing: the key to finding the fabled House of Matchsticks.

And she has it.

Scroll up now to begin the thrilling series the Booklife Prize calls “a literary rarity!”

House of Matchsticks is a third person, multi-POV series with found family, enemies to lovers slow-burn romance (straight and LGBTQ+), and a healthy dose of action/adventure. This collection contains Parts 1-3. Expect unanswered questions.

 

Info:

Title: House of Matchsticks: Parts 1-3 Collection

Age Range: 14+

Publication Date: April 2nd, 2022

Publisher: Dark Window Books

Comp Titles: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo; Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld; Disney’s Atlantis: The Lost Empire; Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne

Formats Available: paperback, ebook, and hardcover

ISBN: 978-1-7778857-4-8 (paperback); 978-1-7778857-3-1 (ebook); 978-1-7778857-5-5 (hardcover)

Josie and the Scary Snapper

Cover small

Cover

1294 x 1687 pixels

Blurb

There are monsters in the dark, but Josie has a magic flashlight.

When the sun goes down, Josie stays awake because she sees monsters in the dark. She sees big monsters and little monsters, fuzzy monsters and scaly monsters. There’s even a purple monster with big horns and long claws hiding in the kitchen! That one is the scariest thing in her house by far.

One evening, Josie’s dad gives her a magic flashlight, her very own Scary Snapper, that will turn any monster into something less scary. When she wakes up in the middle of the night and starts to feel scared, Josie ventures from her bedroom and into the dark hallway, her Scary Snapper in hand.

In Josie and the Scary Snapper, join Josie on a midnight adventure as she conquers her fear of the dark. With vibrant illustrations, an empowering story, and a twist you won’t see coming, Josie and the Scary Snapper is an excellent picture book choice for bedtimes everywhere.

If you enjoyed The Dark by Lemony Snicket and Jon Klassen, Orion and the Dark by Emma Yarlett, or Go Away, Big Green Monster! by Ed Emberly, Josie and the Scary Snapper is for you!

Info

Title: Josie and the Scary Snapper

Age Range: 3-5

Publication Date: October 6, 2020

Publisher: Dark Window Books

Comp Titles: The Dark by Lemony Snicket and Jon Klassen; Orion and the Dark by Emma Yarlett; Go Away, Big Green Monster! by Ed Emberly

Formats Available: paperback and ebook

ISBN: 978-1-7773305-0-7 (paperback) and 978-1-7773305-1-4 (ebook)

Scroll to Top